eduroam

The Wi-Fi service eduroam (education roaming) is available at Heidelberg University and at many other research and higher education institutions worldwide (See: Overview of participating institutions). It offers encrypted Internet access and allows you to log into remote eduroam networks with your Heidelberg Uni-ID without applying for an account at the other institution.

Of course, this service is also available for guest students and traveling scientists at Heidelberg University. Without much effort, they can gain wireless access to the Internet, provided that the home institution participates in the eduroam service as well.

We recommend that our users configure eduroam as a standard wireless access service according to our instructions. For an end-to-end encryption of your data, please use our VPN service as well.


To configure the eduroam access on your device, please use the eduroam Configuration Assistant Tool (CAT), which is available for most common operating systems. If the tool fails, please refer to our how-tos to set up the connection manually.

To setup a connection, you will have to provide a username and a password:

  • If your home institution is Heidelberg University: Your username for eduroam is made up of your Uni-ID (e.g. xy123) and the suffix „@uni-heidelberg.de“, for example, xy123@uni-heidelberg.de. Use your regular Uni-ID password.
  • If your home institution is not Heidelberg University: Please refer to the eduroam documentation provided by your home institution. Usually, the username for eduroam follows this pattern: Your-local-id@homeinstitution.xy
    Use the regular password for the account at your home institution to login.

If you encounter any problems when trying to login to the eduroam network at Heidelberg University, contact our IT service for assistance.

Other than the initial standard activation process that allows you to use your Uni-ID, no further activation is necessary.

Special office hours for VPN, WiFi, 802.1x and eduroam

Unfortunately, we can no longer offer special office hours for VPN, WiFi, 802.1x and eduroam. Please get in touch with the IT-Service if you have any questions or problems. Thank you for understanding!

Additional Links

News

Announcements

No current announcements.

How-tos

No how-tos available yet.

eduroam

Der WLAN-Dienst "eduroam" (education roaming) ist an der Universität Heidelberg und an vielen Bildungs- und  Forschungseinrichtungen weltweit verfügbar. Er bietet einen verschlüsselten Internetzugang und kann an allen teilnehmenden Einrichtungen (Siehe: Übersicht der eduroam-Standorte) verwendet werden, ohne dass vorher an der anderen Einrichtung ein Account beantragt werden muss.

Natürlich steht der Dienst auch Gaststudierenden bzw. reisenden Wissenschaftler/-innen in Heidelberg zur Verfügung, vorausgesetzt, die Heimatinstitution nimmt ebenfalls am Dienst "eduroam" teil. Um bei Tagungen auf "eduroam" aufmerksam machen zu können, haben wir gemäß der eduroam-Vorlage einen englischsprachigen Flyer erstellt.

Wir empfehlen, "eduroam" als Standard-WLAN-Zugang gemäß unseren Anleitungen zu konfigurieren. Für durchgängige Verschlüsselung Ihrer Daten in fremden Netzen verwenden Sie bitte zusätzlich VPN.


Richten Sie den eduroam-Zugang komfortabel über das eduroam Configuration Assistant Tool (CAT) ein, das für die meisten gängigen Betriebssysteme zur Verfügung steht. Sollte diese Einrichtung fehlschlagen, verwenden Sie unsere Anleitungen.

Um eine Verbindung aufzubauen, werden Sie einen Benutzernamen und ein Passwort angeben müssen:

  • Als Heidelberger Nutzer/-in: Verwenden Sie als Benutzernamen eine Kombination aus Ihrer Uni-ID (xy123) und dem Zusatz „@uni-heidelberg.de“, also beispielsweise „xy123@uni-heidelberg.de“. Als Passwort nutzen Sie Ihr übliches Uni-ID-Passwort.
  • Als externe/-r Nutzer/-in: Konsultieren Sie bitte die eduroam-Dokumentation Ihrer Heimatinstitution, um zu erfahren, wie sich der Benutzername zusammensetzt. Im Regelfall folgt dieser dem Muster Ihre-ID@heimatinstitution.xy
    Als Passwort verwenden Sie das übliche Passwort für den Account Ihrer Heimatinstitution.

Sollten sie Probleme beim Login in das eduroam-Netzwerk der Universität Heidelberg haben, wenden Sie sich gerne an unseren IT-Service.

Über die normale Aktivierung Ihrer Uni-ID hinaus, die Sie beim erstmaligen Erhalt der ID durchführen (siehe: Uni-ID), wird keine weitere Anmeldung benötigt.

Spezialberatung für VPN, WLAN, 802.1x und eduroam

Bei allgemeinen Fragen zum VPN, WLAN, 802.1x und eduroam können Ihnen die Kollegen vom Service-Point vor Ort oder über das IT-Service Portal  behilflich sein.

Bei speziellen Problemen, die diese Themen betreffen, gibt es eine Beratung zu folgenden Terminen:

Mittwochs, 14:00 - 16:00 Uhr, im Neuenheimer Feld im URZ (INF 293) Raum 109a

oder telefonisch (während der Beratungszeiten) unter Tel.: (06221) 54-20285.

Für eine persönliche Beratung außerhalb dieser Zeiten können über die oben stehende Telefonnummer oder per Mail Termine vereinbart werden.

Weiterführende Links