heiBOX

heiBOX is a secure and free data storage service which is available for all employees, PhD students and students of Heidelberg University. Employees and PhD students receive 30 GB storage capacity each for all work-related purposes and students receive 10 GB each. heiBOX can be used for exchanging and synchronizing files on PCs and mobile devices and works similar to commercial cloud storage services like Dropbox or Google Drive.

Sharing and collaboratively editing files

As a heiBOX user, you can share files and folders and make them accessible for internal and external users. Students are only allowed to share files and folders with internal users. Via the web interface of heiBOX, you can collaboratively edit Office documents. You can encrypt your data to ensure its protection. All data is securely stored on servers at the URZ. heiBOX is suitable for confidential, personal data, and non-public research data. It supports all common operating systems and mobile devices.

Guest accounts for external users

heiBOX provides the possibility of setting up guest accounts for remote team or project work. Guest account users do not have their own storage capacity but have access to shared files and folders and are able to synchronize them by means of a client.

Individual extension of storage capacity

All employees and PhD students of Heidelberg University receive 30 GB storage capacity each for free. If you need an extension, please send an email to heibox@uni-heidelberg.de and we will extend your heiBOX capacity against a fee. One heiBOX has a maximum volume of 5 TB. Students do not have the possibility to extend their storage capacity.

 

Additional Links

Announcements

No current announcements.

How-tos

No how-tos available yet.

heiBOX

Die heiBOX ist eine sichere, kostenfreie Dateiablage, die allen Mitarbeitern, Doktoranden und Studierenden der Universität zur Verfügung steht. Mitarbeiter und Doktoranden erhalten jeweils 30 GB Speichervolumen für dienstliche Zwecke und Studierende erhalten jeweils 10 GB. Die heiBOX kann zum Austausch und zur Synchronisation von Dateien auf PCs und Mobilgeräten genutzt werden und hat eine ähnliche Funktionalität wie kommerzielle Cloudspeicher-Dienste (Dropbox, Google Drive).

Dateien teilen und gemeinsam bearbeiten

Die heiBOX erlaubt das Teilen und die explizite Freigabe von Dateien oder Ordnern für interne und externe Nutzer. Studierende können Dateien oder Ordner nur universitätsintern teilen und freigeben. Office-Dokumente können über die Weboberfläche der heiBOX gemeinsam bearbeitet werden. Es besteht die Möglichkeit, Dateien in einem Ende-zu-Ende-Verfahren zu verschlüsseln, sodass alle datenschutzrelevanten Aspekte berücksichtigt sind. Alle Daten werden somit sicher übertragen und auf Servern im URZ gespeichert. Die heiBOX ist daher auch für vertrauliche, personenbezogene Daten und nichtöffentliche Forschungsdaten geeignet. Es werden alle gängigen Betriebssysteme und Mobilgeräte unterstützt.

Gastaccounts für externen Zugriff

Zur externen Kooperations- oder Projektarbeit bietet die heiBOX die Möglichkeit zur Einrichtung von Gastaccounts. Diese Accounts besitzen kein eigenes Speichervolumen, können aber auf freigegebene Daten zugreifen und diese mit einem Client synchronisieren.

Flexible Erweiterung der Speicherkapazität

Jedem Mitarbeiter und Doktoranden der Universität Heidelberg stehen 30 GB kostenloser Speicherplatz zur Verfügung. Sollten Sie eine Erweiterung benötigen, können Sie uns gerne direkt per E-Mail eine Anfrage an heibox@uni-heidelberg.de senden, wir erweitern dann ihr heiBOX Quota kostenpflichtig. Das Quota für eine heiBOX beträgt maximal 5 TB. Studierende haben bisher nicht die Möglichkeit, ihren Speicherplatz zu erweitern.

Weiterführende Links