Uni-ID

The Uni-ID is the personal digital ID number for students, doctoral candidates, and employees at Heidelberg University. It grants access to many of Heidelberg University's IT services and various IT services that are available through state-wide cooperations. The ID is an individual combination of letters and numbers that always follows the pattern "ab123".

Each Uni-ID is assigned to a single person and cannot be transferred to a different individual. It does not change even if a person's legal status within the university changes (e.g., when a student becomes an employee).

The Uni-ID is only meant to be used for work or study-related purposes. A new Uni-ID has to be activated by its owner before it can be used. This process requires an activation code that is usually sent to the Uni-ID owner by (internal) mail.

Members of the following groups at Heidelberg University are currently eligible for a Uni-ID:

  • Students

  • Professors

  • Doctoral candidates

  • University employees and civil servants

  • Research associates

  • Temporary lecturers

  • Volunteer staff

University hospital employees who are not members of the Medical Faculties are not eligible for Uni-ID. Individuals who work at a university institute but whose employment contract is with a university hospital also also not eligible for a Uni-ID.

You usually do not need to specifically request your Uni-ID. It will be generated and sent to you once you have enrolled, have been admitted as a doctoral candidate, or have started working at Heidelberg University.

Students receive their Uni-ID together with their student ID card during the enrolment process.

PhD students receive their Uni-ID with their admission as a doctoral candidate. Click here to learn more about the admission process.

Employees receive their Uni-ID via (internal) mail after signing their employment contract.

Student or research assistants who are not enrolled at Heidelberg University, emeriti, and temporary lecturers are not automatically assigned a Uni-ID, but can request one by contacting our IT-Service.

The Uni-ID has to be activated before you can use it. To activate it, you will need a special code that is sent to you by mail. Once you have received the code, use this online form to start the activation process.

Please note: By activating your Uni-ID, you agree to the Terms of Use for all services offered by the University Computing Centre (URZ).

Your Uni-ID will remain valid as long as you maintain a legal status with the university that makes you eligible for a Uni-ID (e.g. as long as you are an enrolled student, a doctoral candidate, or an employee).

If you forgot your password, please get in touch with:

  • the IT representative responsible for you (if you are an employee).

  • one of our IT Service Points (if you are a student or doctoral candidate). See this website for the service point locations and opening hours. Please come in person and make sure to bring a valid photo ID!

If you know your current password but would like to change it:

University hospital employees who are not also members of the Medical Faculties are currently not eligible for a Uni-ID. Individuals who work at a university institute but whose employment contract is with a university hospital also also not eligible for a Uni-ID.

With your Uni-ID, you will automatically receive an e-mail address based on this pattern:

<uni-id>@uni-heidelberg.de

Creating e-mail aliases

Setting an e-mail alias allows you to personalize your e-mail address and makes it more legible. The IT-Service can create e-mail aliases for all @uni-heidelberg.de and @stud.uni-heidelberg.de addresses. These aliases usually follow this pattern:

  • <firstname>.<lastname>@uni-heidelberg.de
  • <firstname>.<lastname>@stud.uni-heidelberg.de

Simply sent an e-mail to the IT Service to request a new alias.

If you are an employee, your respective IT representative can create e-mail aliases with your institute's or organization's prefix, for example:

  • <firstname>.<lastname>@urz.uni-heidelberg.de

Using your mailbox

Once you have activated your Uni-ID, your mailbox is ready to be used. You can access it via the SOGo webmail client or use a desktop-based mail client of your choice (e.g. Microsoft Office, Thunderbird). Please see this page for more information on SOGo or on how to configure your mail client.

 

Case 1: I am a student and will soon become an employee at the university as well. Can I get a second Uni-ID?

No, each person only receives one Uni-ID.

Case 2: I received a second Uni-ID. What am I supposed to do with it?

Please tell our IT-Service which Uni-ID you would like to keep. We recommend to keep the first one that you received.

No. Your Uni-ID is your personal digital ID number and should not be used by others.

The Uni-ID has only been available for doctoral candidates for a short time, so if you have been a doctoral candidate for a while, you may have to complete a few additional steps to receive yours. Please check if you meet the following requirements:

  1. You have already registered at the heiDOCS portal (when starting the admission process) or the Dean's Office or Doctoral Office at your faculty has transferred your data to the portal. Please contact the responsible office if you are not sure about this step.
  2. Your faculty has officially admitted you as a doctoral candidate, and the responsible Dean’s Office or Doctoral Office has documented this admission in the heiDOCS portal (heiDOCS status "accepted").
  3. You have shown your passport or German identity card at the Dean's Office or Doctoral Office of your faculty or at the central Doctoral Students' Office to confirm your identity. The responsible Dean's Office or Doctoral Office has documented the completed identity check in the heiDOCS portal. Please note that the Doctoral Students' Office does not perform the identity check for new doctoral students.

Once you meet all of these requirements, our systems will automatically allocate a Uni-ID and it send it to you by mail.

To complete steps 2 and 3, please contact the Dean's Office at your faculty. To complete step 3, you can also visit the Doctoral Students' Office (unless you are a new doctoral student).

Please note: If you already have a Uni-ID based on an employment contract or due to enrolment, you will not receive an additional ID after your admission as a doctoral candidate. However, your existing Uni-ID will receive the additional “Doctoral candidate” status.

Additional Links

News

No news at the moment.

Announcements

No current announcements.

How-tos

No how-tos available yet.

Uni-ID

Die Uni-ID ist die persönliche, digitale Identifikationskennung für Studierende, Doktorand/innen und Mitarbeiter/innen der Universität Heidelberg. Sie ermöglicht den Zugang zu einer Vielzahl von (IT-)Dienstleistungen der Universität und zu verschiedenen Landesdiensten. Die ID ist eine individuelle Kombination aus Buchstaben und Zahlen, deren Aufbau immer dem Schema „ab123“ folgt.

Innerhalb der Universität ist jede Uni-ID eindeutig einer Person zugeordnet und nicht an andere Personen übertragbar. Sie wird beim Wechsel des Status bzw. der Art der Zugehörigkeit (etwa beim Übergang vom Studium in ein Arbeitsverhältnis an der Universität) beibehalten.

Die Uni-ID wird ausschließlich für dienst- bzw. studienbezogene Tätigkeiten zur Verfügung gestellt. Sie muss vom Nutzer vor erstmaliger Verwendung mit Hilfe eines Codes aktiviert werden, der im Regelfall per (Haus-)post mitgeteilt wird.

Please click here for the English translation of this page.

 

 

Eine Uni-ID erhalten derzeit

  • Studierende
  • Professor/innen
  • Doktorand/innen
  • Angestellte, inkl. Beamte
  • Akademische Mitarbeiter/innen
  • Wissenschaftliche Hilfskräfte
  • Lehrbeauftragte
  • Unentgeltlich Tätige

der Universität Heidelberg.

Mitarbeiter/innen der Universitätsklinika, die nicht den Medizinischen Fakultäten angehören, bekommen keine Uni-ID. Diese Regelung betrifft auch Mitarbeiter/innen von Universitätsinstituten, die personaltechnisch von einem Klinikum geführt werden.

Die Uni-ID muss im Regelfall nicht gesondert beantragt werden, sondern wird Ihnen mitgeteilt, sobald Sie eingeschrieben sind, als Doktorand/in angenommen wurden oder an der Universität Heidelberg ein Arbeitsverhältnis begonnen haben:

Studierende erhalten ihre Uni-ID zusammen mit dem Studierendenausweis bei der Immatrikulation. Mehr Informationen zur Immatrikulation bietet das Serviceportal für Studierende.

Doktorand/innen erhalten ihre Uni-ID mit der Annahmebestätigung zur Promotion. Mehr Informationen zur Promotion und zum Annahmeprozess bietet die Webseite der Graduiertenakademie.

Mitarbeiter/innen erhalten die Uni-ID nach Vertragsunterzeichnung per Hauspost an ihre Dienststelle.

Angestellte Hilfskräfte, die nicht an der Universität Heidelberg immatrikuliert sind, entpflichtete Professoren und Lehrbeauftragte erhalten die Uni-ID aus organisationstechnischen Gründen nicht automatisch. Sie können diese jedoch über einen formlosen Antrag an den IT-Service zugeteilt bekommen.

 

Die Uni-ID muss vor Gebrauch einmalig aktiviert werden. Dazu benötigen Sie einen Aktivierungscode, der Ihnen per Post mitgeteilt wird. Zur Aktivierung verwenden Sie dieses Formular.

Hinweis: Mit der Aktivierung Ihrer Uni-ID erkennen Sie die Benutzerordnungen der Dienste des Universitätsrechenzentrums an.

Die Uni-ID ist gültig, solange Ihr Studierenden- oder Doktorandenstatus bzw. eine andere Vertragsgrundlage (etwa ein Arbeitsvertrag) mit der Universität besteht.

Wenn Sie Ihr Passwort vergessen haben, wenden Sie sich:

  • Als Mitarbeiter/in an Ihren zuständigen IT-Beauftragten.
  • Als Student/in oder Doktorand/in persönlich an einen der IT-Service-Points des URZ (Adressen und Öffnungszeiten). Bitte bringen Sie unbedingt einen aktuellen Lichtbildausweis mit.

Wenn Sie Ihr Passwort noch kennen und ändern möchten:

Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter der Universitätsklinika, die nicht den Medizinischen Fakultäten angehören, erhalten derzeit keine Uni-ID. Diese Regelung betrifft ebenso Mitglieder von Universitätsinstituten, die personaltechnisch von einem Klinikum geführt werden.

Mit Ihrer Uni-ID erhalten Sie automatisch eine E-Mail-Adresse nach dem Schema

<uni-id>@uni-heidelberg.de

E-Mail-Alias setzen

Über den IT-Service können für alle @uni-heidelberg.de bzw @stud.uni-heidelberg.de-Adressen Aliase gesetzt werden. Diese folgen normalerweise dem Muster:

<vorname>.<nachname>@uni-heidelberg.de
<vorname>.<nachname>@stud.uni-heidelberg.de

Über Ihren IT-Beauftragten können Sie (als Mitarbeiter/in) einen E-Mail-Alias mit dem für Sie relevanten Institutskürzel setzen lassen, also beispielsweise:

<vorname>.<nachname>@urz.uni-heidelberg.de

E-Mail-Postfach verwenden

Sobald Sie Ihre Uni-ID aktiviert haben, können Sie das E-Mail-Postfach verwenden. Benutzen Sie dafür beispielsweise den SOGo-Webmailer oder einen E-Mail-Client Ihrer Wahl (Microsoft Outlook, Thunderbird, ...). Mehr Informationen zu SOGo und Anleitungen zur Einrichtung des Kontos in gängigen E-Mail-Clients finden Sie auf dieser Seite.

Fall 1: Ich bin Student/in und jetzt zusätzlich Mitarbeiter/in, kann ich eine zweite Uni-ID erhalten?

Nein, die Uni-ID wird nur einmalig ausgegeben.

Fall 2: Ich habe eine zweite Uni-ID erhalten, was mache ich damit?

Bitte teilen Sie dem IT-Service mit, welche Sie behalten möchten (Empfehlung: die zuerst ausgestellte).

 

 Nein, da die Uni-ID persönlich und nicht übertragbar ist.

Die Uni-ID für Doktorand/innen ist erst seit kurzer Zeit verfügbar und wird vergeben, wenn bestimmte Informationen in Ihrer Online-Promotionsakte im heiDOCS-Portal hinterlegt sind. Sollten Sie bereits seit längerer Zeit als Doktorand/in zugelassen sein, müssen Sie daher möglicherweise noch ein paar Arbeitsschritte durchführen, damit Ihnen eine Uni-ID zugeteilt werden kann. Bitte prüfen Sie, ob folgende Voraussetzungen erfüllt sind:

  1. Sie haben sich vor Beginn Ihrer Promotion im heiDOCS-Doktorandenportal für die Online-Promotionsakte registriert bzw. Ihre Daten wurden durch das für Sie zuständige Dekanat oder Promotionsbüro in heiDOCS hinterlegt. Im Zweifelsfall fragen Sie bitte dort nach.
  2. Sie sind von einer Fakultät der Universität Heidelberg als Doktorand/in angenommen worden und diese Annahme wurde durch das Dekanat oder Promotionsbüro der Fakultät in heiDOCS dokumentiert.
  3. Sie haben Ihre Identität mit einem Personalausweis oder Reisepass im Dekanat oder Promotionsbüro der Fakultät oder alternativ im Zentralen Doktorandenbüro bestätigen lassen und der erfolgte Identitätscheck wurde in heiDOCS vermerkt. Wichtig: Eine Identitätsbestätigung im Zentralen Doktorandenbüro ist nur für bestehende Doktorand/innen möglich, neue Doktorand/innen wenden sich bitte an das zuständige Dekanat oder Promotionsbüro der Fakultät.

Sollten all diese Schritte erfüllt und in heiDOCS dokumentiert sein, wird durch die Systeme des URZ ganz automatisch eine Uni-ID zugeteilt und Ihnen postalisch mitgeteilt.

Zur Umsetzung der Punkte, insbesondere von Punkt 2 und 3, wenden Sie sich an das für Sie zuständige Promotionsbüro bzw. Dekanat. Der Identitätscheck (Punkt 3) kann für bestehende Doktorand/innen auch vom Zentralen Doktorandenbüro durchgeführt werden.

Bitte beachten: Sollten Sie aufgrund eines bestehenden Arbeitsverhältnisses oder durch eine Immatrikulation an der Universität bereits eine Uni-ID zugeteilt bekommen haben, erhalten Sie keine weitere Uni-ID, wenn Sie als Doktorand/in angenommen werden. Ihre bestehende Uni-ID wird nur zusätzlich mit dem Status "Doktorand" versehen.

Weiterführende Links

Neues

Derzeit keine Neuigkeiten.

Ankündigungen

Derzeit keine Ankündigungen.

Anleitungen

Noch keine Anleitungen vorhanden.